Management Team

Dr Ian Rubin, BA MB BS FFPPM

Executive Director
Ian Rubin
Ian graduated in medicine in 1980 and became a principal in general practice in 1984. Having left general practice, Ian has held a wide range of scientific and managerial roles in and around healthcare. As Medical Director for Ashfield, Ian was central in the establishing the company as a supplier of home healthcare nursing services as well as setting up the company’s medical call centre capability in the UK. He has been involved in devising and delivering healthcare service redesign programmes in collaboration with the NHS which have resulted in sustained and significant increases in efficiency and improved patient experience.

He was a member of the ethical working party of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine from 1996 to 2011.

Professor Murray Tilyard BSc, MBChB, DipObst, MD (Otago), FRNZCGP (Dist)

Editor-in-Chief, Executive Director and CEO, bpacnz
Murray Tilyard
Professor Tilyard graduated in 1980 and entered into General Practice in 1985. He became a member of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners in 1990. He gained his Doctorate in Medicine Degree in 1995, was made a Fellow of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners in 1996 and received a Distinguished Fellowship in 2006. He is currently a Professor of General Practice, at the Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago. His research interests are in general practice, health services utilisation, medical informatics, diabetes and chronic disease management. He has published over 100 papers in refereed journals.

Eric Robertson

Chief Executive Officer
Eric Robertson
Eric has worked in a senior role at Reuters around the world before a variety of senior digital positions led him to become CIO at South Link Health and subsequently Chief Executive at Care IS. His experience in clinical decision support has led to significant improvements in patient care in New Zealand, Australia and the UK.